Posted by: Kristin W | August 8, 2009

Getting Ready for the Home Visit

I had big plans today to work toward getting ready for our home visit on Tuesday.  However, I wasn’t feeling too well, and took some time out this afternoon to take S back-to-school shopping, so I didn’t get much done.  To date, I’ve purchased a fire extinguisher and carbon monoxide monitor (which Andrew installed today), and rearranged the medicine cabinet so that the drugs were out of reach of children (they used to be, but then the children grew).  I also cleared out our bar area, locked up the liquor and breakable wine glasses, and hid the corkscrew (which looks remarkably like a weapon when you’re looking around the house for dangerous objects – I’d never noticed that before).  I haven’t cleaned anything, so I hope everyone was serious about the “your house doesn’t have to be spotless” advice that we’ve been getting.  Tomorrow I will mow the yard, get Andrew to clear the dangerous stuff out the garage, and re-install the broken safety latches from the cabinets that have broken off over the years.  Frankly, it’s a miracle our current children have lived this long…

Also this week, Andrew went to the Sheriff’s office to pick up our criminal histories.  Bizarrely, we learned that I have one!  There is a summons listed for passing bad checks in 1996.  I never received anything about this, so not sure what to do to get it cleared.  I’ve got some calls in, but no one has called me back.  I’m thinking that since I moved from Tallahassee to Orlando around that time, I must have closed my bank account before a check cleared.  Oops!  Anyway, it was rather amusing, because of the two of us, I’m sure most people would have bet on Andrew to be the one with a record!  So, now I have to figure out how to clear my good name.

Leave a Reply

Categories

