Posted by: Kristin W | January 25, 2010

Big Day

Today was a huge day for us.  We got an email from our agency saying that they have received our dossier.  AND we got our “Notice of Favorable Determination Concerning Application for Advance Processing of Orphan Petition.  Andrew called me to tell me that it arrived today, and I thought he was going to hyperventilate.  Andrew is funny like that…things are rolling along and suddenly something happens to make it “real” to him.  So, I spoke to our contact at the agency.  She said that it will take a couple of weeks to process the dossier.  Once everything is final and correct, they will likely post-date our official waiting date to tomorrow’s date.  Yippee!!

On the way home from work today I stopped at a new child care facility in town for a tour.  (Don’t worry friends at Ann’s – if they are both old enough, that’s where they will go, but if not, I have to have a back-up plan.)  The conversation went something like this:

Me: I’d like to get on the waiting list.

Her: OK, how old is the child?

Me: I don’t know.

Her: OK, when will you need care?

Me: I don’t know.

This might be a little difficult.  She needs to talk with her owner tomorrow to see what they can do.  I’m sure I’d have this problem anywhere we go.  Lots of unknowns.  Unfortunately, in this town if you don’t have something lined up by the time you get pregnant, you don’t get into the good places.  So, we’ll have to figure out a way to be on every waiting list in town and hope it works out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

