Posted by: Kristin W | February 28, 2010

Waiting

We have been officially waiting for one month and one day.  The listed wait times for sibling groups is 1-12 months, so I guess you could say we’re in the window.  However, there are at least three families ahead of us on the list with the same sibling request, so don’t get excited yet.

Here are some things I am doing while we wait:

I am taking a photography class.  I decided if I’m going to Ethiopia on this once-in-a-lifetime event, I should be prepared to document it well.  Now I just want a more expensive camera and some new lenses.

I joined a softball team.  The kids are at an age where they are fairly easy to take along places, so I figured even if Andrew wasn’t around I could take them with me.  S has loved practice because he gets to play in the outfield and chase after loose balls.  E is not so into it, but has gone to practice twice.  I figure I won’t get a chance to do this when I’ve got four kids, so I might as well enjoy it now.

All of us will soon get our travel shots.  I’m not so excited about this part.  Andrew did some research and says we are going to need 21 shots.  I think I’ll wait and let a medical professional advise us on this one.  (Although Andrew is almost a “doctor.”)

We are also working on changing the habits of our current kids to prepare them for life with siblings.  This means not giving Eleanor all the attention in the world (which makes me the “meanest mother in the whole world”), and giving both of the kids extra chores (like putting away their clean laundry).  Since we had basically gotten away from them doing any chores at all this school year, we decided we didn’t want them to associate the revival of chores to their new siblings.

The whole family is learning some Amharic (the national language of Ethiopia) words and phrases.  We aren’t doing all that well, and not sure that we’re pronouncing them correctly, but at least it’s something to do.  It’s also important to note that there are multiple dialects and tribal languages spoken in Ethiopia, so it’s likely our kids may not know much Amharic, either.  Guess that’s why I’m not knocking myself out to learn a foreign language.

We’re trying to get S more adjusted to trying new (or in his mind, scary) foods.  We figure we’ll only be in Ethiopia for a week, but they’ll have to eat something, so we’re trying to get S to try new stuff.  We’ve also tried cooking with some Ethiopian spices.  It’s likely our new kids will be used to eating extremely spicy foods, and our current kids enjoy the most bland fare possible.  Going to be fun to see where we land on the spectrum!

Leave a Reply

Categories

