Posted by: Kristin W | July 9, 2010

Doro Wat for Dinner

Yes, I know how lucky I am.  I live with a man who enjoys cooking.  He does all the grocery shopping and cooks dinner almost every night.  I’m not much of a cook, so when he’s out of town, me and the kids eat stuff out of a box.  Or hot dogs.

And again, I’m lucky because Andrew lost a bet and owed another couple dinner.  This gave him the perfect opportunity to work on his Ethiopian cooking.  He made Doro Wat (a kind of chicken stew) and Yataklete Kilkil (potatoes, green beans and carrots) served over injera (a kind of spongy bread – a mix between a pancake and a tortilla, but with a sourdough flavor).  It was delicious!  Last time he made it, he followed the recipe and it was super-spicy.  It was almost too spicy to eat – and we LIKE spicy food.  This time he only used 50% of the berbere (an Ethiopian spice) and it turned out quite flavorful, but didn’t make me sweat.

Ethiopian food is fun to eat because you don’t use silverware.  The meal is served on the injera, then you rip pieces of the injera and use them to pick up the chunks of everything else.  It’s like the original bread bowl concept, with few dishes to clean up afterwards.

That's a boiled egg in the Doro Wat.

Responses

  1. Wow! You are lucky. I have yet to try Ethiopian food, but I will in September when I travel to a town with an Ethiopian restaurant.

    Do you buy the injera? I saw someone mentioned you can freeze it. Is that true? I know I can order it on-line from Kentucky.

    • Got the injera from AfricanMarket.com. We’ve had a few different kinds from there – both were excellent.

  2. oh man. you have to post some recipes 🙂

  3. Looks great! I have yet to tackle Ethiopian cooking, I’ll just add it to my growing To Do list =) Do you have a cookbook to recommend? Did your guests enjoy it?


Leave a Reply

Categories

