Posted by: Kristin W | October 17, 2010

On the Bright Side

I have to admit, waiting is harder than I thought it would be.  (Maybe because it’s been longer than I thought it would be, too.)  I am trying to be positive and think of reasons that it’s GOOD that we haven’t gotten a referral yet.  One obvious reason is that we’ve had more time to save up for our travel to Ethiopia.  We are almost to the point where we can make both trips without putting any of it on credit cards.

Another reason…Halloween.  I LOVE Halloween.

Every year we have a pumpkin-carving party the Sunday before Halloween.  It’s the one time a year that we really entertain guests.  At one point, I was wondering what would happen if we got the new kiddos right before Halloween.  How would you explain THAT to someone who doesn’t speak English?!?!?!?  I would hate to cancel the party, but I would also hate to terrify our new children!  So, I guess it’s a good thing that we don’t have two more yet.  The party will go on with no emotional scarring.

Now I’m trying to adjust my thinking to not bringing the kids home until spring.  The bright side to this would be that I could possibly take off for the summer, and then could keep all four kids home for the whole summer.  While there are parts of this that I think might drive me right over the edge, I think it would be great to let the four of them bond.  Plus, I wouldn’t have to worry about the rotation of summer camps that is such a pain to coordinate.  See?  I can be a “glass-half-full” kind of girl!

 

Responses

  1. My three-year-old has been home for about ten months and speaks pretty good English, but I’m still having trouble explaining Halloween to her! She seems to understand the next two coming up – a holidy for eating and a holiday for presents, what’s hard about that? – but the only thing she seems to understand about Halloween is that it involves pumpkins…

  2. Boy are your kids cute =) And I too have thought about bringing kids home around Halloween…it’s crazy the questions IA brings sometimes. Looks like we won’t be having that problem, at least we BETTER not =) If we are still waiting a year from now…well, I can’t think about that!

    • I’m still hoping that you’ll have to explain Santa!

  3. yep – she posted on whfc board. she got hers today. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

