Posted by: Kristin W | November 3, 2010

It’s Official – We’ve Adopted

I think the last few weeks have driven me a little crazy.  The wait has really gotten to me, and this week, we talked with our case manager who feels it may be several more months before we get a referral (and, as a reminder, possible as much as six months after that when the kids arrive home).  So, today I decided to pursue a different route and we adopted a four-month old!

Meet Edgar!

This process was so much easier.  The hardest part was talking Andrew into it, which took a few months.  Then I’ve been stalking Petfinder looking for the perfect dog.  I saw some lab puppies posted last night, so went by the shelter on my lunch hour and there he was!  The paperwork took less than five minutes, I didn’t need a background clearance or fingerprints, no social worker visited our home, and the only reference we needed was a short phone call to our current vet to make sure our other pets were up-to-date on their vaccines.  So, there you have it – less than 20 minutes start to finish.  I’ll be lucky if I make it through the other process in less than 20 months!

 

Responses

  1. Oh my goodness! Watch out girl! We “adopted” our black lab puppy, Chloe, and got our referral 3 days later! Maybe Edgar will bring you good luck, too!

    And hang in there with the wait. It was the toughest thing I have ever done by far so I can totally commiserate! Although we’re not quite out of the woods either still waiting for our court date, it seems somehow a teeny tiny bit easier having the pictures to look at.

    P.S. Chloe is about 4 months old, now, too! And, she looks alot like Edgar! We should get them together for a play date! 🙂

  2. You are so mean =) You know I can’t handle a shock like that these days =) ha!

    He’s adorable…maybe we’ll adopt a dog to help us deal with the seemingly interminable Wait.

    • Too funny! I thought of you as I was typing the title and knew you would freak out!

  3. lol you had me there for a minute.

  4. Congratulations on the new addition! I have to admit that while waiting I had a tendency to look at doggie/kitty adoption sites as well!
    I think we’ll wait until our little girl comes home before adding more four-legged friends (we already have one dog and 3 kitties).


Leave a Reply

Categories

