Posted by: Kristin W | November 16, 2010

Funny Things

I recently read a post from another adoptive parent who had received her referral and was getting a lot of unsolicited advice.  (Sorry, Jennifer…I won’t say anything else about the car seats!)  It made me think about the advice I got when I was pregnant and the advice I’d give to others now.

The best advice I got was to always keep a towel in your car.  You’d be amazed how often it comes in handy.

As for me, I think one of the best things I’ve done as a parent is to keep a quote book.  Starting when S was two, I got a journal and started writing down the funny things he said.

Preparing S for Christmas, when he was 3.5:

Me: What do you say when someone gives you a present?

S: Thank you.

Me: And what do you say when someone gives you a present you don’t really like?

S: I know!! Let’s give it to E!

Then, when E started talking, I added her to the book.

Me: E, you’re a mess.  What did you eat at school today?

E: Boogers!

Sometimes they say things that let you know they’ve completely missed the point of the lesson:

Me: That’s why they signed the Declaration of Independence, so that we could have freedom and be able to say whatever we want to say.

S: Except the bad words.

Sometimes they show the relationship between the kids:

E: Now I’m gonna be Snow White.

S: OK, but I’m NOT gonna be a dwarf.

Sometimes they remind us of special events, like Thanksgiving:

E: When I’m done with this pie, I want some more pie.

Sometimes they show us how their minds work:

S: I think we should get some rats in our house so Jessie and Suzi B (our cats) can eat them.

Dad: I don’t think so.

S: Now you’re going to ask me who gave me that idea, aren’t you?

And sometimes they are a little sweet:

Me (after storytime): Are you going to live happily ever after?

E: Not right now, because I’m going to sleep now.

So here’s my unsolicited advice to all of you who have kids or are waiting on kids: get a quote book.  Last week I was looking through mine and laughing out loud.  You see, I’d forgotten some of these fabulous quotes.  While photo albums and scrapbooks are nice, they are missing an important piece of personality.  One last quote.  When S was six, he said something that made us laugh, then said, “Put THAT in your quote book!”

Responses

  1. Love the quotes. I remember several of yours.

  2. Very cute.

  3. quote book – great idea – but would that require pen and paper… ummm yea… whats that? how about a quote blog? or quote twitter? SH!t my kid says 🙂

    • I would definitely be a follower! I have to admit that I frequently cheat and put the quotes in my phone, to be copied into the book later.

  4. I will definitely do this! Great idea. I especially liked the Thanksgiving quote…I have a soft spot for pie.

  5. Great advice for those of us who are new to this business of parenting. One more thing to add to my list of things to buy( the right sized clothes/shoes, hair/skin products, toys, and quote book)!

  6. that’s too funny! I started this when my daughter turned 2 this past year! The things she says, hilarious!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

