Posted by: Kristin W | August 30, 2011

Organization

It’s Back-To-School time.  All those cheery faces wearing new tennis shoes and spiffy backpacks are showing up in my facebook feed as they pose painfully for pictures on the way out the door on the first day.  Off topic, but here are mine:

Back-to-School.  Ahhhh…no more summer camps.  And back to the predictability and routine of the school year.  I have always loved this time of year.  When I was a kid, I loved taking in my fresh new box of crayons.  When I was in college, I loved overstuffing my car and driving back to Texas.  When I worked in orientation, I loved watching those new freshmen roaming around trying to be cool, but secretly petrified.  And now, I love watching my kids with the same mix of fear and excitement.

Yes, back-to-school is a time to start fresh.  Around this time every year, I make a new attempt to get not only myself, but also my family, organized.  Not an easy task when we have two active kids, baseball lessons, piano, tennis, homework, birthday parties, school lunches, etc.  But this year, I have once again amazed even myself and have things humming like a finely tuned machine.

Here’s my newest organizational tool:

This is the door from our kitchen to the garage with my new hanging organizer from Thirty-One.  (Also, please note the freshly painted door and trim, as mentioned in a previous blog…I’m still painting.)  It is awesome.  I now have a weekly menu and list of daily activities, important numbers, coupons for dining out, calendar, school lunch menu, grocery list, activity information, and school stuff (daily schedules, snack lists, etc.) ALL IN ONE HANDY PLACE.  Yes, I’m a geek, but I am very much excited about this.   (If you’d like one of your own, contact my friend Donna Leigh.)

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I’m so glad you love it and it’s working for you!

  2. Oh I love this. Very, very nice.

  3. I love your organization! i have to ask your from Texas? Where? It is where I was born & raised!! your kids are so precious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

