Posted by: Kristin W | October 7, 2011

Boxes

We are lucky to have received two update on our kids.  We were warned that we might not get these at all, so we feel extremely lucky to have gotten two so quickly.  One was actually done before we got the referral, but wasn’t received until last week.

On the updates, there are a series of boxes to describe the child’s emotional development.  The boxes have labels like:

  • happy
  • withdrawn
  • active
  • friendly

Our little girl’s form was what every parent would want.  She was happy, active, friendly and well-liked.  But the older boy’s form had a check next to SCARED.  It made me so sad to think of him in the orphanage being scared, probably not understanding what was going on or who his caregivers were.  They also had not checked “well-liked” (and don’t get me started on why I think this is a terrible thing to even be on the form), so I was worried that there was no one who would comfort him.

But yesterday we got another update.  They had not checked scared, and they had checked well-liked.  In addition, there was a handwritten note:

“No more scared.”

Relief.

Just little checkmarks on a page, but they make me feel so much better.

(Aside – there was also a note that his favorite activity is toy car driving.)

 

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re getting updates. I hope the boxes continue to be positive for both of them.

  2. So Glad you got a second update. I remember being at the stage you are at. Praying for peace for all during this time that can be so very hard … and that soon you will have your precious kiddos right next to you.

  3. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!! It is amazing what check marks can do for you these days!! I am so happy your boy is feeling more comfortable where he is. Won’t be long until he is riding space mountain!! I am just so excited for you and your family!!

  4. They have still NOT checked the “well liked” box on our forms. Forget that they HAVE checked happy, active, gets along with others, speaking in full sentences. What do you mean my kid is not well liked? Sheesh.

  5. I am feeling such an appreciation for the person who took the time to write, “No more scared.” Just three little words and it makes such a difference to the people over here waiting for any bit of news.
    We have not gotten any updates since referral (end of July). That’s been tough, but it won’t be long now before the boys come up to Addis.

  6. I am impressed at the updates. I wonder if it is because they have just started working with WHFC (rather recently), and they want to do as much as they can as far as updates. Maybe also it is a smaller orphanage. I did get regular updates, and I loved them even if there was no new information.. except weight and height.

  7. That’s great that you’ve gotten updates. And bless the person who wrote “no more scared” – I’m sure that did your worried heart a lot of good. Pulls at your heartstrings, I’m sure.

  8. Yes, those updates, cling to them =) According to ours m was shrinking…

    In any case, I am so happy you have received 2! M now talks about how scared he was when he met us…yes, adoption is a scary thing.

    This part of the wait is extremely tough and will only be worse between Court and Embassy. I know, it’s just what yo uwanted to hear =)

  9. Hi Kristin

    We have a LOT in common! We have also been referred sibs from Afar and the Dagu Relief Orphanage. They are girls, ages 2.5 and 6.5 ( ish). I’ve tracked down a couple of resources on the region that I can share with you, but would also love to hear what you have learned. We are also waiting for a court date (and waiting and waiting …). We also have 2 bio kids (Forest is 14 and Clay is11). We live in MA. What part of the country are you from? We should try to connect!

    Take care,

    Shelley


Leave a Reply

Categories

