Posted by: Kristin W | November 11, 2011

My New Lucky Number

Last week, we talked to our case manager about a few issues.  Near the end of the conversation, I asked if she was still thinking we would get a January or early February court date.  She said that she was waiting to hear about a December court date for some families and told us that usually 8-10 families get court dates together.  She pulled up our info and said that we were right on the line, and we could either be in the group with the December date or in the next group.  I joked that we must be number nine!  She laughed, which is the closest thing I’ve ever gotten to confirmation of our place in line for anything.  That night I checked the weekly reports and realized that I was right.  According to the statistics there, there were eight other families (one other with a sibling group) who had accepted referrals before us and were waiting for court dates.  Knowing that nothing in the process has gone quickly for us, I resigned myself to hoping for January instead of February.

Earlier this week, we had some news that someone was possibly interested in buying our house.  I won’t go into a lot of real estate discussion here, but suffice it to say that if someone wants to buy this place, we’d be interested.  So, I called my case manager again to ask her what would happen if we decided to move at this point in the process.  After a brief discussion about what that would entail, she asked if I could hold and put me on hold for what seemed like a long time.  I kept thinking that I should have just let her go, since we were basically done with our conversation.  Then, she came back and said that she was going to send me an email tomorrow, but since I was on the phone she wanted to go ahead and share the good news.  WE GOT A COURT DATE!!  December 12.  I was shocked that not only was it in December, but it was in the first half of December.  She swore me to secrecy and asked me not to post it on the boards until we got the official email.  It was only then that I realized that 9 is my new lucky number.  (I don’t know if #10 made it or not.)

So, now we are busy preparing.  Overnight, my emotions have changed.  I know this will sound silly, but after all this time waiting I am now FREAKING OUT that this is really happening.  We are REALLY going to Ethiopia.  We are REALLY going to meet these two beautiful kids.  We are REALLY going to get to hold them.  We are REALLY going to court to ask that we be entrusted to raise them.  Yes, I know this is what we’ve been waiting for, but now that it’s happening I feel like I’m not nearly ready.  But I’m not sure you can ever really be ready for what we’re about to do.

In the next 26 days, we will have new flooring installed in our entire house, paint two bedrooms, get donations together for the care center, celebrate Thanksgiving, and completely finish our Christmas shopping (as when we return, we’ll go right into the holiday).   Seems like a lot to me.  But it’s all good.

By the way, we are flying to Ethiopia on the 9th.  Yep, lucky #9!

 

 

Responses

  1. Yeah!!! So happy for you!

  2. So thrilled for you!!! =)

  3. I’d be freaking out too, but this is such good news..Yahoo!!!

  4. I may be wrong, but I don’t think there were any late December or early January court dates last year, so it is great you made it in on that date. Again I could be wrong, but a friend and I were stalking the boards for obvious reasons. The holidays just really seem to shut down a lot. Of course maybe this year it will be different.

  5. Such wonderful news! Lucky #9 indeed. I’m so excited for you – and hooray that for once the process is going faster than expected!

  6. That certainly is ALL good. I’m so so happy for you adn thrilled that yoru court date was earlier than anticipated. I cannot wait to hear all about your trip. What a crazy time…moving !?, Trip 1, the holidays…WOW!

  7. Have a great trip!

  8. I may be wrong, but I don’t think there were any late December or early January court dates last year, so it is great you made it in on that date. Again I could be wrong, but a friend and I were stalking the boards for obvious reasons. The holidays just really seem to shut down a lot. Of course maybe this year it will be different.
    +1

  9. Thanks for your comments on my blog. You are so right. Dealing with families during the wait must be difficult but giving news of a court dates and referrals is awesome. Have a great trip! Can’t wait to hear about it. 🙂 Kala


Leave a Reply

Categories

