Posted by: Kristin W | December 21, 2011

Day 8 – Thursday

When you adopt a four-year-old, you know going into it that you’ve missed a significant part of their life.  However, I’m finding it fascinating to watch A and assume that the things he is doing are “firsts.”  Today we colored.  I’m not sure if he has ever done this before, but he knew how to hold the crayon correctly and he colored in four animals in a coloring book (staying in the lines…have I mentioned he’s kind of orderly?).  Later in the day, Andrew found a puzzle and poured out the pieces.  At first he didn’t know what to do with them, but once Andrew showed him, he understood and did it, with a little help.  He is really eager to try things and doesn’t seem nervous or inhibited.  It is really amazing to see how he has just jumped into his new environment and is figuring things out.  What an amazing kid.

I knew that today would be rough, but had no idea how hard it would be.  Early in the day, we had one of the nannies explain that we were leaving tonight to go back to America and get things ready for him.  She told him that in a few months, we would come back and get him and H and we would all fly on an airplane to America.  He said “yes, I am happy.” But this afternoon, he and Andrew were playing, when suddenly he started to hit Andrew.  We were at the guest house, so asked Leah to translate and ask why he was so upset.  He at first came up with one reason, but then said he wanted to go inside and hug Mommy goodbye.  So, we said our goodbyes in the courtyard, with no translator, and I told him I loved him in Amharic.  That’s all I could say.  Then Andrew took him back to the big kid house, where I’m glad I didn’t witness the rest of the goodbye.  I stayed in the courtyard, hugging H with tears rolling down my cheeks until I could pull it together enough to go back inside and feed H her dinner.  Then, when Andrew got back, we took her back to her crib, and left her, once again, with a huge smile on her face.  Sometimes not knowing what’s going on makes it easier.

Now we’re on a plane back to DC.  This weekend we will celebrate Christmas with my mom.  Monday I will go back to work.  We will take the kids to school, do homework, and nag the kids to brush their teeth  Basically, we will act like nothing has changed.  But everything has changed.

Responses

  1. Oh these kids…they are remarkable aren’t they. I hope you are with them soon!

  2. Poor little guy. It’s hard hard hard on these kids. sometimes I think 4/5ish is the most difficult age to be adopted. They are old enough to know that their world is on its head, but not quite old enough to understand why. Hugs to you and your little ones. Know they are receiving excellent care. Hopefully you will hear from the Embassy soon.

  3. I know I can’t even begin to imagine what this was like for you, but oh, for those little ones – it must be even harder. They’ve had so much change uncertainty… and then to meet these new people and then have them leave. Ugh. I hope you have smooth sailing through the Embassy process and can go back to them soon. For the sake of all of you.

  4. Beautiful pictures. I hope the rest of the process goes quickly for you.

  5. Yes, we too are going on as if nothing has changed, but everything has. I hope things progress smoothly for you. We’ve passed court, so now we’re buckling in for another round of waiting. The house feels empty. Hang in there…


Leave a Reply

Categories

