Posted by: Kristin W | March 22, 2012

Day 3 – Wednesday

We had our Embassy appointment this morning.  We were in the baby room getting H when A walked through the door.  He was wearing real tennis shoes instead of Crocs and he was strutting around like he owned the place.  He was very excited about going in the machina (car) and was the first one in.  He was having trouble sitting still and was trying to climb over the seats into the driver seat, so Andrew asked Mulat to intervene.  I’m not sure exactly what was said, but it clearly hurt A’s feelings, and he settled down and stared out the window for the entire drive with slow, sad tears running down his cheeks.  Heartbreaking.  He is so tough at some times, but so vulnerable at others.

We arrived at the Embassy and went through security to sit in a large room filled with people.  Along one wall there is a bank of walk-up windows and they were calling the families names over a hard-to-understand loudspeaker.  Luckily, there was a small playhouse and slide at one end of the room, so A had a place to spend some time.  Under the play area was carpeting…something it was obvious A had never walked on before.  Finally, they called our name and we went to our window.  A was super-cute, saying “la, la, la, la!” to the man through the glass, trying to get his attention away from the paperwork he was sorting through.  Andrew signed a few forms, then A took the pen and wanted to do the same thing, so E gave him a piece of notebook paper, on which he made a few lines before shoving it under the window.  The guy took it, put it with the rest of our paperwork and slid it back through.

For those of you wondering about the process, he did ask us a few questions:

  • Did we meet both the children before attending court?
  • Had we met with the birth family?
  • When were we leaving?

He also told us a few things that the birth family had told him during their investigation, which matched what had been told.  Always a good sign.

This afternoon, we went to the Hilton for lunch and swimming.  The big kids were in need of some food.  S was feeling better and was rehydrated, but still hadn’t been eating much, and E, who is usually a pretty adventurous eater, was also ready for something familiar.  Five cheeseburgers and an hour of swimming later, they were tired, but feeling much better.  To top it off, we got ice cream.  The guy scooping the ice cream told me the flavor was caramel, which I ordered, then when I tasted it, realized that it was coffee.  So, Eleanor got two cones.

When we came back, I spent some time at the big kid house with A and the rest of the family came back and played with H.  I was the only parent at the big kid house, so A and I spent our time alone, playing catch with one of those Velcro mitts and tennis balls (thanks to Kim and Gennet).  It was good quality time.  We haven’t had much chance to spend time with just the two of us.  He is definitely bonding primarily with Andrew, so if Andrew is around, I am totally irrelevant.  Of course, the ball game ended and I was back to pushing the car around or watching him push the car around.  I am on the verge of setting fire to the car.

Responses

  1. Yes, I remember those cars well! Love these pics and I love hearing about your trip. I didn’t see the play area at the embassy…! M just sat in my lap the entire time; I think he was too scared to move anyway.

    I hope you guys are doing well. I’m thinking of you guys all the time. You made it to a baseball game. With all of your kids. Things must be going pretty well!

  2. I love seeing those cars… it’s something I see in all of the HH photos! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing some information about the Embassy appointment. I don’t think I’d heard much detail before, and it’s always nice to know what it’s going to be like. I love that A signed and submitted some papers, too. 🙂

    I love that you had an afternoon of swimming pools, cheeseburgers, and ice cream. I think we all need time like that


Leave a Reply

Categories

