Posted by: Kristin W | May 19, 2012

I Pinned It (And Actually Did It)

So I have been trying to figure out what kind of mom I am.  I know, I’ve two kids for a while, so I should probably already know this, but it seems like time to reassess things.  Am I the fun mom?  Am I the one who always does crafty projects on playmates?  Am I the mom who lets her kids make whatever kind of mess they want?  (Ummm…no…to OCD to even really consider that one.)  Am I the mom who bakes cookies, volunteers with PTO, takes my kids to fun places or does extra science projects just for fun?

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m too much of the “I have stuff to do” mom.  Laundry, dishes, cleaning up, picking up, feeding the dog, etc.  I think that’s how my kids will remember me.  But, since I have three more months of leave before I go back to work, I’m going to try to do some fun stuff.  So I joined Pinterest.  I’ve pinned lots of stuff on a board that I named “To Do With Kids.”  That was months ago.  I haven’t done any of it.

Until now.

This week I made “calm down jars.”  They are lava-lamp inspired things.  I was hoping that when Andrew and S get A all riled up, I could use these to calm him down.  I had so much fun making them that I made extras.  They are basically bottles filled with water, glue and glitter.  You shake them up and the glitter floats around in a calming way until it settles at the bottom.  A lot of people use them as timers for time outs, which I figured might also be a good use.  Here they are…

So, how did they work out?  Fail.  A looked at one for about 4.7 seconds and moved on.  He hasn’t been in time out since I made them on Thursday (which is almost something worthy of a post of its own), so I haven’t tried them there, but as a calming device, they are not working.  However, L loves to roll them around on the floor, so not a total loss.  And E is giving one to a friend for her 8th birthday.  So, not a total loss.

For those interested, I used Voss water bottles, clear gel tacky glue, food coloring to tint the water, and ultra-fine glitter.  (Be sure to use ultra-fine, the regular glitter sinks too fast.  I know because I used it on the first two.)  Use warm water so the glue dissolves and use more glitter than you think you should need.  I tried a few with glitter glue, but they needed extra glue anyway, and it was harder to dissolve.  I glued the lids on with super-glue, but if you are a crafty mom, you probably have a glue gun.  I’m not that mom.

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Great reminder; I too am the busy-doing-stuff-that’s-not-fun mom. I am new to this, but I envy those creative, spontaneous mothers out there. Do I need to join Pinterest to become that person? I’ll add it to my To Do list.

  2. Pinterest freaks me out…that’s all I’m going to say on that topic. If I had four kids, I’d be the mom who didn’t shower for a week, so I think your way ahead of the curve.

  3. Hi! I saw your comment on my blog. Thank you for your kind words. Yes, it’s definitely a difficult process. But I know it will all be worth it in the end…whenever the HECK that may be! I really have gotten to a good point in the process though. I’m okay with the wait. It is what it is and there is nothing I can do about it.
    I’m glad things worked out so well for you. Your little ones look precious! I’m going to add you to my follow list so we can keep in touch.


Leave a Reply

Categories

