Posted by: Kristin W | June 6, 2012

Today’s Conversation

We haven’t really had a lot of awkward conversations about having kids of a different race.  Yet.  But today, I had a funny conversation with a four-year-old while waiting for E and A to finish swimming lessons.

Kid: Who’s that? (pointing to L who was in her stroller next to me)

Me: That’s L.

Kid: But who is she?

Me: She’s my baby.  And E’s sister (pointing to E in the pool).

Kid: But she’s not…you know…the same COLOR as you.

Me: Nope, she’s not.  She’s from Ethiopia.

Kid: I’m from California.  We moved here.

And then he proceeded to tell me the long story of his journey from CA and all of the snacks his mom packed for the long car ride.  But don’t worry.  They stopped to eat dinner at restaurants.

Anyway, the whole conversation took just a few minutes and was not incredibly remarkable.  Except for the fact that it was the first one.  That’s right, it’s the first time someone has actually mentioned the fact that my new kids don’t look like me.  I guess it’s not really something that comes up, I just thought it would come up more.  And I’m not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing.

 

Responses

  1. Sounds like it went pretty well, as far as awkward conversations about race can go!


Leave a Reply

Categories

