Posted by: Kristin W | July 11, 2012

Our Amazing Little Guy

 

I am so impressed with this little guy.

His enthusiasm is unstoppable.  His smile is contagious.  His giggle is hysterical.

I have to admit, when we were in Ethiopia, I had serious doubts about this whole thing.  I wondered how on earth we would ever deal with these tantrums and carry on our normal lives.  I even emailed our social worker from Ethiopia and told her we were having serious problems.  She, of course, said kind words of encouragement, which made me think I hadn’t adequately described the level of hell we were in.  Then when we got home, we had this little guy who reminded me of a caged animal.  He would kick, cry, bite, and lash out in any way he thought might hurt us.

But today, he is a happy kid.  Truly happy.  He is funny.  He laughs.  He makes faces to make us laugh.  He tells us stories that he thinks are hysterical (like when he stood beside the fridge and jumped out so that S spilled his water on the floor).  I know there is sadness and grief somewhere inside, but most days, he’s the happiest kid I know.  Even when he gets in trouble, he ends up laughing.

I met this week with the principal of our kids’ elementary school.  I think we’ve decided to go ahead and send him to Kindergarten.  We realize that we may have to hold him back and do it twice, but it just seems like the best option right now.  He will be classified as an ESL student, but we are not the district’s ESL school, so he won’t be pulled out for any English instruction. The teacher will assist him in the classroom.  This seems like a complicated endeavor to me.  Let’s say she hands out a worksheet and asks the kids to circle words that start with a “B” sound.  Many Kindergarteners will struggle with the “B” sounds, but ours doesn’t even know what it means to circle something.  That seems tough to overcome in a class of 18-20 other kids.  But, we’ll give it a shot.  Everyone keeps telling me how quickly he’ll catch up.  But even if he doesn’t, I have a feeling he’ll just laugh about it.

 

Responses

  1. We’re hoping to send E to kindergarten too. I think they will catch up, think about how much they’ve already learned, the rest will come. I looked at video the other day from when E first came home, wow. Her whole demeanor has changed, her body movements, etc. Those first days are rough, it’s amazing how resilient our kids are.

  2. I’m so glad to hear that he’s doing so well now. He sure looks like a happy kid! Good luck with kindergarten in the fall! Sounds like a well thought out choice by both you and the principal.

  3. I love his curls growing in. I am continuously amazed at the pure happiness our kids feel after all they’ve been through. Aberash will be starting kindergarten in the fall too, so we’ll have to compare notes.

  4. What great shots of A. H kissed the screen when she saw it and asked when he was coming. What a good looking kid.


Leave a Reply

Categories

